Meditate Not Slander

ג Gimel

17 Be good to your servant while I live,     that I may obey your word. 18 Open my eyes that I may see     wonderful things in your law. 19 I am a stranger on earth;     do not hide your commands from me. 20 My soul is consumed with longing     for your laws at all times. 21 You rebuke the arrogant, who are accursed,     those who stray from your commands. 22 Remove from me their scorn and contempt,     for I keep your statutes. 23 Though rulers sit together and slander me,     your servant will meditate on your decrees. 24 Your statutes are my delight;     they are my counselors.

Psalm 119:23 – Though rulers sit together and slander me,     your servant will meditate on your decrees. This verse could apply to anything or anybody in our lives – rulers, pastors, elders and fellow Christians. The attack seems strongest within the church, sometimes the people you would want and you would think would support you, encourage you end up slandering you and most of the time not even know it. Too many times words spoken out by people in the church towards me have knocked me down, discouraged me, made me feel like I’m worthless, not up to the standard’s that they think I or other people should live up too, their standards, controlling, self-motive’s and for their own gain.

The verses from 17-22 sounds like a committed Christian, asking for God’s anointing, His blessing not to leave, to stay always, asking God for His presence to stay.

V20 – My soul is consumed with longing for your laws at all times.

With this comes tribulation, hardship, criticism, jealousy, slander and even innocent disrespect.

But also with this we can meditate on God’s Holy decrees, on His words and promises and find comfort in his mercy.

HIS STATUTES ARE MY DELIGHT, THEY ARE MY COUNSELLORS.

No longer will I live in the shadow of other people and their opinions of what worshiping the Lord looks, feels or sounds like. No longer will I accept the scrutiny of those who think they are better than me just because of their intelligent minds.

My heart is with Jesus and there it will stay till my last breath, my counsel will be in God, not in man.

Seek first the kingdom of God.

My dreams and Visions will no longer be crushed by the words, actions, emotions and opinions of man.

Related articles

~ by deepercriesout on November 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
